Season Sponsors
pitcairnlogo  wrtilogo

2016–2017 Season

Giargiari Bel Canto Competition

Danielle Orlando, Music Director and Accompanist

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Sponsored with a generous gift from Walter and Alice Strine, Esqs.

Resident Artists, accompanied by AVA Master Vocal Coach Danielle Orlando, sing a single aria in competition with each other for prizes awarded by a professional panel of judges and by the audience themselves. Previous Giargiari winners include international opera stars Angela Meade, Richard Troxell, Joyce El-Khoury, Stephen Costello, James Valenti and Latonia Moore, among others.

Full program and performers (subject to change) here.

Last season, fourth-year soprano Vanessa Vasquez took the James Parkinson Opera Foundation First Prize, the Walter and Alice Strine, Esqs., Audience Prize and the WRTI Listener’s Choice Prize - becoming just the fourth singer in 12 years to win all three awards (and just the third to win them all in the same year) joining Jeffrey Halili (2004), Stephen Costello (2005) and Angela Meade (2006/2007).

AVA alumnus William Davenport's winning aria from the 2011 Giargiari Competition at The Church of The Holy Trinity: "Che gelida manina" from La bohème

Image: Nathan Milholin at the 2015 Giargiari Bel Canto Competition

Production Related News & Articles

Also See